school board selects an architectural firm for Mission Valley Elementary | Reserved for subscribers

The Victoria School Board on Thursday night approved the selection of Rawley McCoy & Associates as the architects for the Mission Valley Elementary School Bond project.

A total of 10 architectural firms bid on the project, and a committee selected the top four candidates, Deputy Superintendent Greg Bonewald said.

“We were fortunate to have many experienced companies responding,” Bonewald said.

Selecting a candidate was not an easy task, he said. A district committee met for about six hours on Monday before deciding whether to recommend the company for the project.

Board members Tami Keeling and Margaret Pruett served on the selection committee, with Kevin VanHook as an alternate.

Bonewald was also on the board; Eric Amsler, principal of Mission Valley Elementary School; Joycelyn Drozd, teacher at Mission Valley Elementary School; John Urbano, district maintenance manager; some staff from the central district office; as well as Tray Ballard and Brian Morris, members of the District Bond Oversight Committee.

Council also gave approval to Superintendent Quintin Shepherd to move forward with finalizing a contract with the architectural firm.

Trustees Retire The meeting was also the last for VanHook, who is retiring and not seeking re-election.

Kathy Bell and Theresa Klacman are running for the District 1 Board of Directors. Election day is May 7.

Excellence Also at the meeting, the board voted to nominate Shepherd for the Texas School Boards Association Superintendent of the Year.

Cody covers the beat of business for the lawyer. He can be reached at (361) 580-6504 or [email protected]

Michael J. Chiaramonte